Millage Information

A Letter to Our Friends

Dear Friends,

Clean, accessible, and safe parks are critical to a vibrant community. After nearly ten years of advocacy by the Friends of Eaton County Parks and other partners, the Eaton County Board of Commissioners has voted to place a parks millage on the ballot for November 2022. If passed, this .5 mill countywide ballot initiative will generate millions of dollars over the next ten years to invest in and maintain Eaton County Parks as well as provide funding for local community parks.

If passed, what will the millage be used for?

  • Restroom facility updates

  • Updated grounds and nature trails

  • Accessibility options

  • Pet-friendly spaces

  • Updated children’s play areas

  • Picnic and pavilion updates

The Friends board has worked with other partners to create a separate campaign committee called Restore Our Parks. We are confident through a survey commissioned by the Friends that we have the support to pass this proposal, but like all campaigns, resources are needed to educate voters and earn their support at the ballot. We ask you to join us in our efforts to successfully pass this millage by making a donation to the Restore Our Parks campaign.

What will your donation support?

  • Mailers to Voters

  • Social Media Advertising

  • Educational Literature about Eaton County Parks

  • Yard Signs

  • Coalition and Community Support Building Initiatives

Your donation will provide the Restore Our Parks committee with the financial resources necessary to push this millage over the finish line and ensure funding for our parks for years to come.

You can donate by following this link: or by mailing a check made out to Restore Our Parks to Restore Our Parks, 1037 Gretchen Lane, Grand Ledge, MI 48837.

Beyond financial support, there are several other ways to get involved by emailing

How can I support the Restore our Parks Ballot Proposal:

  • Volunteer your time at local events

  • Submit a letter to the editor

  • Share your support on your social media

  • Spread the word to your friends, family, and neighbors

  • Provide a yard sign location

The success of the Restore our Parks ballot proposal is a community effort. We appreciate your consideration of getting involved and ensuring our parks are restored, preserved and made accessible for everyone to enjoy.

For more details on the campaign visit:

With appreciation,

Restore Our Parks Committee

Paid for by Restore Our Parks

1037 Gretchen Lane

Grand Ledge MI 48837

Ballot Language



JULY 20, 2022



Introduced by the Ways & Means Committee

Commissioner Mulder moved the approval of the following resolution. Seconded by

Commissioner Droscha.

WHEREAS, Eaton County desires to continue to operate and maintain county parks for the

benefit of the citizens of the County; and

WHEREAS, parks are a substantial benefit to the citizens of the County, enhancing quality of

life and providing outdoor recreation and leisure opportunities.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the following question be submitted to a vote of

the electorate of Eaton County at the general election to be held November 8, 2022.


For the purpose of providing funding for operations, maintenance, acquisition,

improvements and/or development of parks and open spaces within Eaton County, shall

the real and tangible personal property tax limitation within the County of Eaton,

Michigan, be increased in an amount not to exceed 0.50 mill ($0.50 on each $1,000 of

taxable value) for a period of ten (10) years (December 2022- July 2032)? If approved

and levied in its entirety, this millage would raise an estimated $2,240,786 in the first

calendar year after its approval.

YES [ ]

NO [ ] ; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this question is hereby certified to the County Clerk;


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the County Clerk is hereby directed to cause this proposed

question to be stated on the November 8, 2022 ballot and to be prepared and distributed in the

manner required by law.

Roll call. Ayes: Commissioners Barnes, Augustine, Haskell, Whitacre, Mudry, Brehler, Droscha,

Reynnet, Ridge, Lautzenheiser, Mott, Rogers and Whittum.

Nays: Commissioners Mulder and Pearl-Wright. Carried.

We use cookies to improve your experience and to help us understand how you use our site. Please refer to our cookie notice and privacy statement for more information regarding cookies and other third-party tracking that may be enabled.